My Journey to the Land of Coffee

Well hello there Internet. I hope you’re doing well. I’m ok. I’ve been trying to become accustomed to the taste of coffee. This is probably not a very good idea in the grand scheme of things, but I figure before college is over I’m bound to have pulled an all-nighter (or ten) and when that time comes I want to have something to keep me awake. Energy drinks scare me and sodas don’t work.

Unfortunately, I hate the taste of coffee. It’s bitter and weird, and I’m pretty sure bitterness is an indicator of poison. Of course, I don’t know what’s good for me, so I’ve been getting a variety of flavored coffee-type drinks in the hope that large amounts of cream and various sugary syrups will drown the taste. It’s worked… sort of. They’re getting more bearable, at any rate. Of course I can’t stand to swallow more than a molecule at a time, which leads to even very small drinks getting cold halfway through.

This afternoon, I purchased a caramel latte from a place in the Student Union (thank goodness for meal plans). I took it with me to the library, where I’ve been studying lately as it is far easier to get work done here than in my dorm room. The drink itself was only about 8 ounces, but I only managed to down half of it before it went cold. Of course, the fact that for some reason they are STILL RUNNING THE AIR CONDITIONING up here didn’t help matters. It’s sitting next to my computer at the moment, staring at me. It’s not my fault, caramel latte! You should have been more delicious!

I mean, it was ok. But it’s no hot chocolate.

Eventually, I hope to be able to drink my coffee black, like some sort of serious writer-type, or embittered businesswoman/divorcée . I don’t see that happening in the near future, though. Especially as I currently have a headache, which I’ve chosen to irrationally attribute to my latte. That’s not helping matters.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Journey to the Land of Coffee

  1. Abidail

    GAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re blog got ads!!!!!! THE HORROR!

  2. Abidail

    Your, not you’re. Sorry.

  3. Abidail

    All the shirts you wear in this blog are either blue or black.

Leave a Reply

