I’m a Holiday Hipster

Hey Internet. First, I’ve got to tell you something. I LIIIIIVVVVVEE! In humans vs. zombies, that is. (I you have no idea what I’m talking about, see my previous post.) Ok, technically I’m going to die because I can’t go to the final mission, but at least I made it all week.

Ok, now on to what this post is actually about, namely my holiday hipsterness. As I see it, Christmas is the most mainstream of the holidays. Every one starts looking forward to it way ahead of time (Come on guys, October? Really?), and everyone celebrates it. Even some people who aren’t Christian celebrate it, on the basis that it’s an American holiday. (Not sure about this logic, but I can’t blame them for wanting presents. And who doesn’t like putting a tree in the living room?)

However, everyone always seems to overlook Thanksgiving. Well, a lot of people anyway. I might as well tell you now that Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. There’s no complication with presents, much less commercialization, and no one will ever get offended if I wish them a happy Thanksgiving.

Side note: I don’t understand why someone would get offended if they were wished a merry Christmas by a well-meaning stranger. If you want to wish me a joyous Festival of Giant Spiders, I won’t call the political correctness police. I promise.

But back to Thanksgiving. Two more points in its favor: it’s in fall (my favorite season) and it gives me an excuse to cook strange and wonderful foods (my foodies muscles are starting to atrophy after almost 3 months living in a dorm, so I need this). Of course I enjoy the opportunity to see extended family, but Christmas has that working for it as well.

So, to all of you getting excited about Christmas before Thanksgiving is over: Beware. I will be sulking in the background in one of my many ironic t-shirts, nay-saying. Let’s wait until December shall we?

And with that, I’m going to go build a shelter to protect me from all of you calling me the Grinch. Happy Thanksgiving!

P.S. A NaNoWriMo update:

Word count: I don’t want to talk about it.

Novel-writing song of the day: Up the Wolves by the Mountain Goats

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m a Holiday Hipster

  1. Darcy Rocha

    Brilliant. Love it. Couldn’t agree more.

    …and Happy Festivus!

  2. Pingback: A Card for my Turkey « See Mary Blog

Leave a Reply

