Zombies! Run Away!


Hey there Internet, I-

Wait a minute. Duck. *shoots a zombie that was sneaking up behind you* You’re welcome.


Well, the zombie apocalypse is finally upon us. At my college, anyway. Since Monday a raging war between the humans and the zombies has been occurring. Only the strong can survive.Ok, maybe that’s a bit dramatic. Let me explain.It all started this Monday. The name of the game? Humans vs. Zombies. The object? Well, to stay human. Three days in, I have so far eluded the hordes .Basically, humans wear green strips of fabric tied around their arms while zombies wear the same color fabric tied around their heads. If a zombie tags you, you have 45 minutes wherein you must wear your bandana (or, if you’re me, brutally severed shirt sleeve) around your neck. Then you become a zombie. Fortunately, buildings are safe zones, i.e. the zombies can’t drag you away in the middle of psychology class. Good thing, too. As a human, if a zombie is coming for you you can shoot them with your nerf gun. This stuns them for 10 minutes. You can also throw socks to the same effect. This leads to large groups of humans walking around wielding giant nerf guns. It also leads to large groups of zombies walking around trying to find said humans (though as a human you are by far more vulnerable alone… luckily I know a lot of back entrances). The campus kind of looks like a violent area of a third-world country, except with nerf guns and a lot of higher education. So far I’ve shot (stunned) 3 zombies using this. Here’s an illustration of my first stun.

I wasn’t sure I could make it to the safe zone in time, since the two of them appeared to be trying to flank me, so I turned around and fired over my shoulder. And I totally hit the guy I was aiming at! Yes! I’m basically this guy.

Every day, there are also official missions which involve confrontations between large groups of humans and zombies. (Needless to say, the number of humans is dwindling by the hour.) Unfortunately I can’t tell you much more about said missions, because so far they have all occurred during a time in which I had a previous engagement. Hopefully I’ll be able to make it to one tomorrow.

The game comes to an epic finale this Friday evening. If you survive the final mission, you’ve won. Of course, it’s just my luck that I’m going out of town this weekend, and so am going to have to miss said finale. I am displeased.

Good things there’s another game next semester!

Anyway, as far as NaNoWriMo goes…

Word count: 11,345 (I’ve got to catch up! Sheesh.)

Novel-writing song of the day: Pumped Up Kicks by Foster the People has been stuck in my head, and I want it out.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Zombies! Run Away!

  1. A very appropriate, very violent, little ditty to have stuck in your head during zombie wars. “You better run baby, run, out run my gun…..”

    Stay safe, dead-eye.

  2. M-Coops!

    I feel sorry for you. That is the most annoying song and I really wish they would stop playing it on the radio before I explode. Anyways, don’t get killed by a zombie!

  3. Pingback: I’m a Holiday Hipster « See Mary Blog

Leave a Reply

