The Ballad of Class Registration

‘Sup, Internet?

I’m so sorry. Let me try that again.

Top o’ the mornin’, Inter-

Wait. One more time.

Hello, Internet. (There, that’s better.)

Because the population my college is larger than many people’s home towns, I’ve already had to register for classes. It was pretty dramatic.

Class registration opened at midnight, which meant that everyone with the same registration day as me was sitting at their computers at 11:59 waiting to hit the button. Since the internet in my dorm is laughably slow, one of my suitmates, her friend, and I decided to go to the library, having heard tales of how long it usually took to register. Of course, internet speed won’t help you when the problem is with the server, but a girl can hope.

We arrived a few minutes before midnight and dug in. At midnight exactly, we typed in the numbers of our courses and hit enter. Then we waited.

And waited.

And waited.

About 30 minutes in my loading finally began to show signs of life. Bored out of my mind, I drew this little guy.

Adorable, huh?

After more waiting, my loading bar suddenly went back to zero, at which point I gave up and hit refresh. (I had been avoiding doing this earlier with the knowledge that it would just start the wait over again.) However, when I came back to the page, I was miraculously registered for everything. Hurray!

So we finally got back at about 1 in the morning, and that is the story of class registration.

Now time for a NaNoWriMo update!

Word count: 5,135 (I haven’t done my writing for today yet, so that number means I’m still on track.)

Novel-writing song of the day: The NaNoWriMo Song, of course.

See you Monday, Internet.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Ballad of Class Registration

  1. Ash

    That picture is hilarious!!! Good luck with your NanoWriMo!!!!

  2. Abidail

    Suitmate? Don’t you have your own suit?

Leave a Reply

